School: Withee H.S. Alumni Banquet (28 May 1972)


Surnames: Andreasen, Munson, Rasmussen, Sweda, Nielsen, Alberts

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 08 Jun 1972

The first reunion of the Withee Alumni Association was held on May 28, 1972, and termed a huge success, as 625 people attended from almost every city of Wisconsin and many states. It began with a reception at the Meadowview Country Club from 4 to 6 p.m., followed by dinner at the new Owen-Withee High School gymnasium. The master of ceremonies at the dinner was Andre (Bumpsy) Nielsen of Bloomington, Minnesota. Dinner was served to 625 guests by the cooks of the O-W High School, who did a super job of catering. The menu consisted of turkey and ham, served family style. Mrs. C.O. Alberts was chairman of the invitations and worked on almost the whole reunion, and much credit is due her. Thank you notes and letters were read from many who could not be here. Plans were made to hold another reunion in two years.

The guests in attendance were from California, Minnesota, Florida, Iowa, Illinois, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Arizona, Michigan, Indiana, Washington, Colorado, New York, Arkansas, Montana, Idaho, South Dakota, Oregon, and Wisconsin.

The honored guests were Mrs. Thyra Andreasen, oldest graduate of Withee; Mrs. Ida Munson, Ralph Owen of South Dakota, S.M. Munson and wife Irene, who were some of the first graduates; Mrs. Olga Rasmussen of Spooner, who is a state Senator of the 23rd district, and who is also an early graduate of Withee; Mr. Joe Sweda, state Representative of Lincoln and Taylor Counties, and resides at Lublin.

It was very gratifying to the committee who worked so hard on this reunion, and they express appreciation for the attendance, and invite everyone to plan to come back in two years.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel