News: Owen H.S. Classes of 1934-35 (Class Reunion – 1970)


Surnames: Barager, Mahoney, Fritz, Doonan, Hurlbert, Hansen, King, Crane, MacFarlane, Schultz, Afrank, Anderson, LePage, Auberg, Klug, Barrett, Blum, Cattanach, Copes, Devine, Erickson, Stewart, Fahrenbach, Phillips, Coan, Gruszynski, Hermansen, Hutchins, Krom, Kraut, Larsen, McCray, Mathewson, Melbinger, Rasmussen, Mertens, Kozlowski, Molepske, Roller, Pape, Yates, Jacobson, Merriman, LeGault, Hull, Marshall, Mauel, Miller, Nikkinen, Olson, Otrin, Barrett, Pedersen, Kallio, Petersen, Meinhardt, Petke, Bacon, Bower, Driscoll, Sample, Carter, Stark, Stadler, Elstrom Stephens, Koplitz, Tieman, Tomich, Strohm, Peters, Severson, Weaver, Wood, Bangle, Malen, Luitink, Sturgeon

---------Source: OWEN ENTERPRISE (Owen, Clark County, Wis.) 03 Sep 1970

It was a good thing everyone wore a name tag when the Owen High School classes of 1934-35 held a joint reunion on the 25th of July 1970. Reason being, it was the first reunion for either class since their graduation dates some 36 and 35 years ago.

They came back, 86 of them at least, and in all sizes, shapes and bald, but it wasn't long before features and voices linked to identify one another.

The program started out with a tour of the new school building at five o'clock, followed by a cocktail hour and dinner program at the Meadowview Country Club.

Here the group enjoyed the honor of the presence of six former teachers, plus two board members. J.R. Barager presided as master of ceremonies and introduced the guests that included former board members W.A. Fritz and W.J. Mahoney Sr., Principal W.K. Doonan and instructors, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Hurlbert (she was the former Elsie Hansen), Beaumont, Texas; Mr. and Mrs. Oliver King, Minneapolis, Minn.; Mrs. Gwen Crane MacFarlane, Pasadena, Calif., and A.H. Schultz, Neenah.

Graduates making it back for the occasion included Mrs. Effie (Afrank) Anderson, Lyons, Oregon; Mr. and Mrs. Bernard (Ardelle LePage) Auberg, Withee; Mr. and Mrs. James Barager, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. James (Vivian Klug) Barrett, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Karl Blum, The Dalles, Oregon; Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Cattanach, Boscobel; Mr. and Mrs. Malcolm Capes, Marshfield.

Also, Mr. and Mrs. Jack Devine, Warren, Ohio; Mrs. Emery (Margaret Mahoney) Erickson, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Bill (hazel Stewart) Fahrenbach, Colby; Mr. and Mrs. Loraine Fritz, Owen; Mrs. Louis (Betty Coan) Gruszynski, South Bend, Indiana; Henry Hermansen, Brook, Indiana; Arlie Hutchins, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Claire Krom, Milwaukee; Donald Kraut, Curtiss; Mr. and Mrs. Carl Larsen, Brookfield; Mr. and Mrs. Blaine McCray, Withee.

Also, Mr. and Mrs. Celand (Lois Mathewson) Melbinger, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Joe (Hilda Rasmussen) Mertens, West Allis; Mr.a dn Mrs. Stanley (Irene Kozlowski) Molepske, Wisconsin Rapids; Mr. and Mrs. Edward (Mary Roller) Pape, Wausau; Mr. and Mrs. Iver (Della Yates) Jacobson, Bell Gardens, Calif.; Mr. and Mrs. Gordon (Catherine Merriman) LeGault, Stevens Point; Mrs. Edward (Delia Yates) LePage, Withee.

And also, Mr. and Mrs. Don (Orpha Hull) Marshall, Thorp; Eleanora Mauel, Owen; Mrs. Vincent (Irma Pape) Miller, Cadott; Mr. and Mrs. Leslie R. Nikkinen, Lake Forest, Ill.; Wayne Olson, Abbotsford; Julia Otrin, Eau Claire; Mrs. Carl (Juanita Barrett) Pedersen, Loyal; Mr. and Mrs. Woodrow (Sylvia Kallio) Petersen, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Walter (Eleanor Meinhardt) Petke, Excelsior, Minn.; Mr. and Mrs. Ernest (Ruth Bacon) Petke, Johnson Creek; Mr. and Mrs. Einar (Shirley Bower) Rasmussen, Milwaukee; Mary Alice (Sturgeon) Ryder, Springfield, Ill; Mr. and Mrs. John (Margaret Driscoll) Sample, Hastings, Minn.

Also, Mr. And Mrs. Louis (Rosemary Carter) Stark, Theresa; Art Stadler, Wickenburg, Ariz.; Mr. and Mrs. Chester (Mildred Elstrom) Stephens, Spencer; Mr. and Mrs. Glen (Myrtice Koplitz) Tieman, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Steve (Dorothy Driscoll) Tomich, Melrose Park, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Louis (Althea Strohm) Peeters, Merrill; Mr. and Mr.s Sam Severson, Rockford, Ill.; Mr. and Mrs. Bob Weaver, Chase Mills, New York; Mr. and Mrs. Charles (Alberta Barager) Wood, Eau Claire; Mr. and Mr.s Alvin Bangle, Owen; Mr. and Mrs. Harley Malen, Milwaukee; and Mrs. (Ardith Stadler) Luitink, Milwaukee.

A social hour followed the program that concluded with awarding prizes to Effie Afrank Anderson for coming the farthest distance; Malcolm Capes for having the largest waistline; Claire Krom was the only one to have a class pin or ring with them; Mr. and Mrs. Iver (Della Yates) Jacobson, the most children, 14; and Wayne Olson was the father of the youngest child. It was also decided to hold another reunion five years hence, with the same committee that made this event such a success, responsible. They are Mrs. James Barrett, Mrs. Emery Erickson, Eleanora Mauel, Mr. and Mrs. Loraine Fritz, Arlie Hutchins, Donald Kraut and J.R. Barager.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel