School: Thorp H.S. Class of 1960 (10 Year Reunion – 1970)


Surnames: Grendzinski, Hallanger, Schmidt, Zaborowski, Joela, Saharinen, Badzinski, Zahn, Mickett, Moskiewicz, Ebben Boie, Zasacki, Mortensen, Butek, Kostick, Hempleman, Verkuilen, Oldenburg, Doege, Pagel, Szymoniak, Moczarny, Soborowicz, Turenne, Brodbeck, Siudak, Brunett, Luzinski, Stroinski, Alger, Anderson, Budzinski, Ciolkosz, Deuel, McQuillen, Dobrzynski, Lorenz, Fisher, Haas, Fortek, Christophersen, Gajda, Shimel, Gostomski, Butek, Granstrom, Grendys, Grucelski, Gulcynski, Jacobson, Gwiazdon, Brei, Heasley, Oldenburg, Hendricks, Benzschawel, Hirsch, Stevenson, Kobylarczyk, Kroll, Krupa, Johnson, Krzyzanski, Bieno, Losiewicz, Surufka, Malinowski, Stack, Mattes, Piwoni, Przybylski, Schmidt, Szymoniak, Truckey, Senn, Winiarczyk, Ogurek, Alexander, Orzechowski

----Source: THORP COURIER (Thorp, Clark County, Wis.) 16 Jul 1970

Fifty-three members of Thorp High School Class of 1960 with their wives, husbands, or guest, enjoyed a weekend of class reunion festivities over the 4th of July.

On Friday evening a pre-union picnic was held at the cafeteria of Mattes' Livestock Market. On Saturday, the evening began with cocktails at 6:30 p.m. at the Thorp Legion Hall, followed by a dinner at 7:30 p.m.

The class colors of red and white were carried out in the table decorations and flower centerpieces.

Tom Grendzinski, senior class president, served as the emcee for the evening, welcoming class members and guests. A moment of silence paid tribute to three deceased members, Marvin Hallanger, Robert Schmidt, and Wayne Zaborowski. On Sunday a centerpiece from the tables was place on each grave and a Mass was offered at St. Bernard's Church for them.

Roll call was conducted by Tom Grendzinski, and each member in turn introduce their wife, husband or guest. A message was read from Irma Saharinen Joela, who was the class' foreign exchange student in their senior year.

The class prophecy was read by Louella Badzinski Zahn, followed by Jo Ann Mickett Moskiewicz reading the class quips. Presentation of awards was next with Carol Ebben Boie and Barbara Zasacki Mortensen doing the honors. Prizes were awarded to the following: Bill Butek for coming the farthest; Shirley Kostick Hempleman for coming the closest; Louella Badzinski Zahn for having the most education; Marvin Verkuilen was awarded the prize for being the most recently married; Louella Badzinski Zahn was awarded a prize for the newest baby, although a telephone call came into the reunion only moments before the meal stating that Jean Hempleman Oldenburg has just given birth to a baby girl. The prize for the class ring most worn was won by Carol Doege Pagel. The classmate with the least amount of hair was Dale Ebben. Conrad Szymoniak made the last reservation and Shirley Kostick Hempelman was married the longest. There was a six-way tie between classmates with the most children, at four apiece: Mary Ann Moczarny Brodbeck, Mary Gutowski Soborowicz, Shirley Kostick Hempleman, Brenda Luzinski Turenne, Pat Siudak Brunett, and Ted Stroinski. It was voted to hold another reunion in five years, with Roger Truckey as chairman.

Class members present at one or the other or both evenings were as follows: Roger Alger of Lublin; John Anderson of Stanley; Louella Badzinski Zahn of Eau Claire; John L. Budzinski of Thorp; Bill Butek of Ontario, California; Al S. Ciolkosz of Thorp; Jo Ann Deuel McQuillen of Waukesha; Richard Dobrzynski of Madison; Carol Doege Pagel of Thorp; Carolyn Doege Lorenz of Stanley; Carol Ebben of Thorp; Dale Ebben of Madison.

Nancy Fisher Haas of Beloit; Virginia Fortek Christophersen of Withee; Carole Gajda Shimel of Tony; Phyllis Gostomski Butek of Thorp; Sgt. Richard Granstrom of Hephzibh, Georgia; Frank Grendys of Richfield; Tom Grendzinski of Burnsville, Minnesota; Eugene Grucelski of Plymouth; Judy Gulcynski Jacobson of Schaumburg, Illinois; Mary Gutowski Soborowicz of Stanley; Lambert Gwiazdon of Thorp; Kay Heasley of La Mesa, California; Jean Hempleman Oldenburg of Marshfield.

Peggy Hendricks Benzschawel of Stevens Point; Barbara Hirsch Stevenson of Las Vegas, Nevada; Robert Kobylarczyk of Eau Claire; Shirley Kostick Hempleman of Thorp; Robert Kroll of Withee; Sharon Krupa Johnson of Greenwood; Mary Ann Krzyzanski Bieno of Thorp; Elaine Losiewicz Surufka of Hickory Hills, Illinoi; Brenda Luzinski Turenne of Thorp; Nancy Malinowski Stack of Chicago; Aaron Mattes of Thorp; Phillip O. Mattes of Thorp; Jo Ann Mickett Moskiewicz of Thorp.

Mary Ann Moczarny Brodbeck of Jefferson; Peter Moskiewicz of Thorp; Sylvia Ogurek Alexander of Madison, Margaret Orzechowski of Elmwood Park, Illinois; George Pagel of Thorp; Jo Ann Piwoni of Minneapolis, Minnesota; Tom Przybylski of Chippewa Falls; Clarence Schmidt of Thorp; Pat Siudak Brunett of Thorp; Ted Stroinski of Abbotsford; Conrad Szymoniak of Eau Claire; Roger Truckey of Thorp; Marvin Verkuilen of Thorp; Joyce Wniarczyk Senn of Wheeling, Illinois, and Barbara Zasacki Mortensen of Thorp.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel