School: Neillsville H.S. Valedictorian & Salutatorian (Honors - 2017)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Hauge, Lis, Anderson, Ruskin, Grap, Diestler, Fischer, Hayes, Hensiak, Holman, Krultz, Kyle, Mayer, Meshnick, Miller, Naedler, Ollech, Opelt, Perschke, Schmidt, Schoengarth, Thur, Watton, Wagner, Zickert, Kuhn

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI) 5/24/2017

NHS Valedictorian & Salutatorian (Honors - 2017)

By Todd Schmidt

Neillsville High School has announced the Class of 2017 valedictorian and salutatorian.

Morgan Hauge is the valedictorian. During her high school career, Hauge was an active participant in National Honor Society, Spanish Honor Society, High Potential, Spanish Club, Student Council, Youth in Action, Fine Arts Club, Yearbook Committee, and BLAST (Being a Leader and Standing Tall).

Hauge was also a key contributor to the girls’ basketball, volleyball, and girls track and field teams, and the high school musical.

She is employed at the Christine Center and babysits for multiple families in the area.

Hauge plans to attend UW-La Cross to pursue a career as a physician’s assistant.

In her spare time, Hauge enjoys fishing, baking, running, snowboarding, and spending time with friends and family.

She is the daughter of Eric and JoAnn Hauge of Willard. She has two siblings, Jordan, 23, and Kyle, 20.

Kayla Lis is the salutatorian. She was involved in a number of co-curricular activities during her high school career, including National Honor Society, National Society of High School Scholars, Yearbook Committee, Student Council, Youth in Action, Fire Arts Club, Spanish Club, and BLAST.

Lis was a valuable member of the volleyball, cross country, girls’ basketball, and girls track and field teams.

She works on the family farm. Her hobbies include snowboarding, running, playing basketball, baking, and socializing with her friends and family.

Lis will attend UW-La Crosse to pursue a career in physical therapy.

She is the daughter of Dean and Lisa Lis of rural Neillsville. She has a brother, Josh, 21.

The Neillsville High School Commencement Ceremony will be held in the Fieldhouse Satruday, May 27, at 2 p.m. Seventy members of the Class of 2017 will receive their diplomas.

Principal Craig Anderson Ruskin will introduce the graduates. He will present diplomas along with Neillsville School Board treasurer Peggy Grap.

The class flower is White Alstromeira. Class colors are red and white.

During the ceremony, the following honor students will be recognized, along with the valedictorian and salutatorian: Ashlee Diestler, Brianna Fischer, Adam Hayes, Dylan Hensiak, Cody Holman, Krista Krultz, Michelle Kyle, Jonathan Mayer, Abigail Meshnick, Paul Miller, Trisha Naedler, Jacob Ollech, Lexi Opelt, Arianna Perschke, Adam Schmidt, Mindy Schoengarth, Jocelyn Thur, Dakota Watton, Brady Wegner, and Malory Zickert.

The Concert Choir will perform “Together We Are One by Alan Billingsley. The Senior Choir will perform “Thank You” by Jay Althouse.

The Neillsvi8lle High School Band will offer the processional selection “Pomp & Circumstance” by Edward Elgar, and the recessional selection “Sine Nomine” by Ralph Vaughn Williams.

Senior class officers are brady Wegner, president; Dakota Watton, vice president; Nicholas Kuhn, secretary; and Lexi Opelt, treasurer.

The class motto is as follows: “The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel