School: Colby H.S. Class of 1941 (Reunion - 1966)

Contact: Dinah Reinke

Surnames: Schulte, Beyerl, Franz, Dins, Podevels, Jastrow, Bauer, Bandow, Borgeman, Feind, Kriplean, Braum, Firnstahl, Hoernke, Krueger, Miller, Ziegahn, Pacholke, Cobb, Ohlinger, Schneider, Bogner, Staffeil, Wurthman, Jackson, Steinwand, Kademan, Wellman, Brehm, Sukup, Fleming, Spann, Flink, Strathman, Anderson, Kanter

------ Source: Tribune-Phonograph (Abbotsford and Colby, Clark Co., Wis.) 07/07/1966

------ Colby High School Class of 1941 (Reunion - 08 JUL 1966)

Celebrating their twenty-fifth year since graduation, the class of 1941 of Colby high school held their reunion Saturday evening, July 2, at the Colby Hotel. The evening began with a social hour from 7 until 9:30 p.m. at which time they enjoyed a dinner. Presiding as master of ceremonies for the occasion was Jacob ‘Jim’ Beyerl, who had served also as co-chairman, along with Audrey Schulte, in making preparations for the event.

The tables held bouquets of pink roses adorned with sliver accents, in the class colors. Following the welcome speech by Jim Beyerl, prizes were awarded to Miss Sally Franz, Seattle, Wash., who had come the longest distance; to Mr. and Mrs. Rudy Dins, Edgar, having the youngest child (the Dins were doubly rewarded with a set of twins to merit this award); Arvin Podevels, Spencer, for having the least amount of hair, and to Mrs. Gilbert Jastrow (Marie Bauer) for having the most children. She is the mother of ten youngsters and they live in Milwaukee.

Forty seven members graduated in the class of 1941, and their class motto was “Climb, Though The Rocks Be Rugged”.

An unusual fact learned at this reunion was that there are to date no grand children, simply because none of the children of these 1941 graduates have married as yet. It is also unusual to report that none of the classmates are deceased, and none of the former teachers could be contacted for this reunion.

Letters were read from the absentee class members, and following the dinner, each of the ladies present received a long stemmed pink rose.

Those present for the occasion were Mr. and Mrs. Clement Bandow, Rockford, Ill, Mr. and Mrs. Victor Borgeman, Curtiss, Mr. and Mrs. Art Feind, Rochester, Minn., Miss Marcella Franz, Seattle, Wash., Mrs. Charles (Rita Kriplean) Braum, Stevens Point, whose husband is deceased, Jerry Firnstahl, Sun Prairie, Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Hoernke, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Krueger, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Donald (Isabelle Miller) Ziegahn, Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. C. A. (Bernice Pacholke) Cobb, Owatonna, Minn., Mr. and Mrs. Milton Ohlinger, Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Robert (Arla Mae Schneider) Bogner of Cloverdale, Calif., Audrey Schulte, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Roger Staffeil, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. John (Helen Wurthman) Jackson, Baraboo, Mr. and Mrs. Julius (Rosemary Steinwand) Kademan of Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth (Dolores Wellman) Brehm, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. (Rose Sukup) Fleming, Menomonee Falls, Mr. and Mrs. Norman (LaVerne Spann) Flink of Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. Rudy Dins of Edgar, Mr. and Mrs. Gilbert (Marie Bauer) Jastrow, Milwaukee, Mr. and Mrs. Arvin Podevels, Spencer, Mr. and Mrs. Jacob ‘Jim’ Beyerl, Colby, and invited guests Mr. and Mrs. Harry Strathman, Colby, Mr. and Mrs. Ray Anderson, Abbotsford, and Mr. and Mrs. Donald Kanter, St. Francis, Wisconsin.
It was decided to have another reunion in five years.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel