School: NHS Class of 1947 (25th Reunion - 1972)

Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon

Surnames: Jacob, Volz, Reidl, Van Tatenhove, Mattson, Hahn, Tock, Davis, Durst, Haas, Hauge, Teclaw, Hubing, Jacobson, Madsen, Marg, Plunkett, Milton, Svetlik, Schoengarth, Subke, Kalina, Thayer, Larson, Zschernitz, Hediger, Opelt, Appleyard, Knoop, Lewerenz, Dux, Staffon, Lynch, Tesmer, Anderson, Crume, Steinkraus Casler, Dahnert, Gehrt, Hall, Hemminger, Mallory, Gilbertson, Menning, Ziegler, Meyer, Moffatt, Noll, Ross, Rosekrans, Hagen, Pflughoeft, Oberholtzer, Schmidt, Church, Shaw, Lowe, Strebing, Thompson, Struensee, Thomas, Brunett, Thomsen, Eggiman, Vornholt, James, Zipfel, Carl, Perushek, Wasserburger, Langreck

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co, WI) 8/24/1972

NHS (1972 Class 25th Reunion - 19 August 1972)

Twenty-two members of the Neillsville High School class of 1947 gathered Saturday evening, August 19, at Bali Hai supper club for a 25th anniversary reunion. Arrangements for the reunion were made by Mrs. Charlotte Jacob of Ellsworth and Mrs. Velda Jean Volz of Neillsville.

An anniversary cake trimmed in class colors of yellow and white featured the class flower, yellow roses, and the class motto, “To Strive, To Seek, and Not to Yield.” The cake was made by a class member, Mrs. Eleanor Reidl of Jefferson.

James Van Tatenhove of La Habra, Ca, class president, acted as master of ceremonies. Letters read from several classmates who were unable to attend included special regrets from Cmdr Don Mattson who had planned to attend but was unable to do so. The thoughts of those present were with deceased class members Gordon Hahn and Milton Tock.

As the committee was unable to locate several members of the class, it was suggested that anyone who changes address in the future should notify either Charlotte Jacob or Velda Volz.

Class members present included the following: Mrs. Leo (Eleanor Davis) Reidl, Jefferson; Lewis Durst, Scottsdale, Ariz.; James Haas, Barron; Mrs. Don (Ruth Hauge) Teclaw, Greendale; Mrs. Robert (Charlotte Hubing) Jacob, Ellsworth; Merlin Jacobson, Wisconsin Rapids; Adrian “Bill” Madsen, Mauston; Mrs. Pat (Betty Marg) Plunkett, Chippewa Falls; Mrs. Charles (Gloria Milton) Svetlik, New Holstein; Merlon Schoengarth and Mrs. Martin (Dorothy Subke) Kalina, Merrillan; Mrs. Charles (Aralda Thayer) Larson, Waupaca; James Van Tatenhove, La Habra, Ca; Lavern Zschernitz, Stanley; Mr and Mrs. Bernie (Hannah Hediger) Opelt, Christie; Melvin Appleyard, Robert Knoop, Mrs. Willis (Velda Lewerenz) Volz, Mrs. Everett (Angeline Marg) Dux, Mrs. Robert (JoAnn Staffon) Lynch and Milford Tesmer, Neillsville.

Those unable to attend were Donald Anderson, Orlando, Fla.; Mrs. Joyce Crume Steinkraus, Abilene, Tex.; R. T. “Tommy” Casler, Moline, Ill.; Miss Eileen Dahnert, Eau Claire; Walter Gehrt, Wisconsin Rapids; Mrs. Wilbur (Kathleen Hall) Volz, Orland, Cal.; Harold Henninger, Milwaukee; Mrs. LeRoy (Delores Mallory) Gilbertson, Moorhead, Mn.; Donald Mallory; Cmdr. Donald Mattson; Mrs. Clarence (Genevieve Menning) Ziegler, Brookfield; Harold Meyer, Cupertino, Cal.; Norman Moffatt, Neenah; Mrs. William (Lorraine Noll) Ross, Marshfield: Mrs. Elizabeth Rosekrans Hagen; Mrs. Robert (Edith Pflughoeft) Oberholtzer, California; Mrs. Eugene (Phyllis Schmidt) Church, West Allis; Mrs. Richard (Edna Shaw) Lowe, Oshkosh; Mrs. Dick (Bernice Strebing) Thompson, Lindsay; Calvin Struensee, Dallas, Tex; Mrs. Thomas (Angeline Thomas) Brunett; Mrs. Robert (Jane Thomsen) Eggiman, Beaverton, Ore.; Mrs. Jesse (Ruth Vornholt) James; and Raymond Zipfel, Mrs. Tony (Jeanette Carl) Perushek and Mrs. Delbert (Leona Wasserburger) Langreck, Neillsville.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel