School: Neillsville H.S. Class of 1913 (50 Year Reunion - 1963)


Contact: Dolores (Mohr) Kenyon



Surnames: Haugen, Beeckler, Brown, Alton, Lewis, Brooks, Barrett, Gaetcke, Davis, Mortimer, Fricke, Forman, Hoganson, Beckman, Knorr, Smalley, Mueller, nelson, Wild, Neitzel, Short, Schultz, Huntley, Turville, Dahnert, Wood, Wightman, Zimmer, Peterson, Warren, Hubbard, Rand


----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) August 29, 1963


Neillsville High School Class of 1913 (50 Year Reunion - 24 August 1963)


The class of 1913 of Neillsville High School, Saturday held their first reunion in the 50 years since graduating, at Club 10.  This class has the distinction of having edited the first annual and donated a stone tablet of the Gettysburg Address, which still stands in the school.


Two members of the class, Otto A. Haugen and Rex Beeckler, were killed in World War I. The Neillsville American Legion Post was named in honor of Mr. Haugen, who was the first Neillsville man killed in that conflict.  He was a brother to Arthur J. Haugen of Neillsville.  Mr. Beeckler was a brother of Ben, Daphne and Pearle Beeckler of Granton.


Frank E. Brown, president of the 1913 class, served a master-of-ceremonies. He was assisted by Helen Mueller.


Eighteen members of the class of 36 were present. Eleven are dead, the residences of two are unknown, and five remaining living members were not present.  Letters from all but one of the surviving members were read following the dinner.


Those attending were: Mrs. Ray (Viola Alton) Lewis of Salem, Ore.; Clark Brooks, Granton; Mrs. Pearl (Barrett) Gaetcke of Minneapolis, Minn.; Frank E. Brown of Neillsville; Mrs. Ray (Marian Davis) Mortimer of Loyal; Mrs. Leland (Zura Fricke) Forman of Minneapolis, Minn.; Mrs. Henry (Mary Hoganson) Beckman of Green Bay; Shirley Knorr of Arcadia; Tena Smalley of Los Angeles, Cal.; Helen Mueller of Milwaukee; Mrs. H. C. (Lillian Nelson) Wild, of Minneapolis, Minn.; Mrs. Arthur (Elsie Neitzel) Short, of Granton; Mrs. Ella (Schultz) Huntley of Thorp; Mrs. Ben  (Hannah Turville) Dahnert of Wisconsin Rapids; Mrs. Nancy (Wood) Wightman of La Crosse; Mrs. Arne (Helen Zimmer) Peterson of Neillsville; Mrs. Helen (Warren) Hubbard of Clarksville, Mo.; and Paris Rand of Rosendale, Wis.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel