School: Thorp Junior Prom (Apr 1958)


Surnames: Stewart, Kliminski, Bogumill, York, Anderson, Wnek, Smith, Hanley, Benzschawel, Ryniec, Morshall, Gulczynski, Badzinski, Luzinski, Graikowski, Boardman, Winger, Blazel, Grendzinski, McQuillan, Norysiewicz


----Source: Thorp Courier (Thorp, Clark Co., Wis.)  04/17/1958


The Thorp High School Junior Prom will take place Saturday evening, April 19, 1958.  The theme chosen by the Junior class for this year’s prom is Sayonara, meaning "Japanese goodbye."  The Japanese mood will be carried through with gayly colored decorations consisting of flowers, lanterns, and tomes.


An unusually fine orchestra will furnish the dance music.  This ten piece orchestra, the Lynn Winch and Russ Nelson Orchestra, is musically styled after the late Glenn Miller.  No orchestra of this size has ever bee featured at a Thorp High School Prom.  Dancing will be from 8:00 p.m. to 12 midnight.


At 9:45 p.m. the crowning of the king and queen, George Kliminski and Judy Stewart, will take place.  Immediately following the coronation ceremonies the grand march will be held.  The crowning couple is Judy Bogumill and Vernon York, and the attending couple is Sharon Anderson and Bob Wnek.


With the help of their class advisors, Miss Smith and Mr. Hanley, the prom committee worked out decoration plans.  The members of the prom committee are George Kliminski, Judy Stewart, Bob Wnek, Sharon Anderson, Judy Bogumill, Ronald Benzschawel, Diane Benzschawel, Dorothy Ryniec, Keith Morshall, Donald Gulczynski, Rosemary Badzinski, Dave Luzinski, Mary Ann Graikowski, Jean Badzinski, Karen Boardman, Faye Winger, Bob Blazel, John Grendzinski, Pat McQuillan, and Jane Norysiewicz.


The admission is $1.75 per couple and $.50 for spectators.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel