School: Neillsville, Wis. - Indian School (1957)  

Contact: Dolores Mohr Kenyon


Surnames: Grether, Stucki, Kippenhan, Hauser, Filz, Irvine, Monegar, Coyle, Baumgartner, Hartz, Vick, Guthmiller, Embke 

----Source: Clark County Press (Neillsville, Clark Co., WI.) August 29, 1957 

Indian School (1957) 

The Winnebago Indian School will open for the fall term Tuesday, September 3, for enrollment, with regular studies starting September 4, announces the Rev. Jack Grether, chaplain and administrator.  Erected in 1919 and 1920, the school is starting its 38th year. 

The enrollment is expected to number from 40 to 50 Indian children, made up of orphans, children from broken homes, and from homes where parents are unable to care for them. 

"It’s a real home mission program," said Rev. Grether, "and our school cares for Indian children who are under-privileged or disadvantaged."  

With Mr. Grether are the following supervisors, teachers and employees: Rev. Benj. Stucki, general superintendent; Cilla Kippenhan of Appleton, upper grades; Gretchen Hauser, intermediate grades; Helen Filz of Appleton, primary grades. 

New counselors are Bob Irvine, Hollidaysburg, Pa.; Mona Monegar, Willard; Nan Jean Coyle, Granton; and returning counselor Mrs. Laura Baumgartner, Humbird. 

Kitchen and dining room employees will be: Mary Hartz, Appleton; Evelyn Vick, Pardeeville; and Mrs. Benj. Stucki.  Miss Louise Guthmiller, Tripp, S. D., is the new office girl.  Mrs. George Grether will serve as house mother, and the Rev. George Grether, as night watchman. 

Louise Kippenhan of Appleton, who worked 18 years at the Winnebago Indian Mission at Black River Falls, has been secured as the school’s first case worker.  Norbert Embke is the farm manager. 



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel