History: Clark Co., Wis., Naturalization Hearings (1913)

Contact: Ken Wood


The court house in Grand Rapids on the opening day of court was the scene of a wild scramble of citizens anxious to take out their naturalization papers under the new law. There were 85 applicants, 69 of whom were given citizenship, 6 continued and 12 dismissed, as follows;

ADMITTED TO CITIZENSHIP George Brabdl, Ignatz Fleischmann, John Rolsma, Paul Bymers, Peter V. Ploeg, Ike Baruch, Jacob Polmarsch, William Leder, John Niedzwreski, Nikolaus Andres, Herman Binneboese, Hans P. Anderson, Jen Falt Larson, Robert Perling, Albert Witte, Jorgen Halvorsen, Christian Oleson, Young F. Carlson, Anders Hansen, Frederick Hause, John Splies, Albert Oilschlager, Ole Sivertson, Robert Borchardt, Fred Schiller, Alois Kasberger, Albert Burke, Julius Maass, Henry Benner, Rasmus Larson, Anton Carlson, Robert Sanger, August Kroll, Christ Karlson, Charles Mue! ller, Frank Gleichner, Andrew Gleichner, Charlie Edwards, Peter McGarigle, Michael Power, Wilhelm Zanow, Justin H. Brunier, Arjin Hoekstra, John Simon, August Korth, Joseph Schuster, David Walff, Labe Shapiro, Alfred Alm, Herman Stibbe, Albert Nimtz, Ston M. Anderson, Theodore A. Anderson, Edward Manske, Albert F. Gross, Nels Nelson, Berhardt Benkowski, Leonhard F. Hirsch, Frederick J. Herschleb, Ferdinand Withelm, Joseph McConnell, Albert berg, Frederick W. Kruger, Peter H. Hansen, Gustave Kruger, August Kowalski, Samuel Church.

CONTINUED Knute Waurum, August Heuer, William Badke, John Stangl, Sam Spector, Joseph Tvrdy

DISMISSED Wilhelm Wolff, Albert Burke, August G. Olson, Thomas Evanson, Wm. H. George, Mathew A. Barth, John Withalm, Albert T. E. Buss, Louis Ansell, Ephraim Church

----Sources: Marshfield News Herald, Saturday, October 11, 1913, Page 4, Column 4


Naturalization day for Clark County will be hald at the court house at Neillsville on Nov. 14. The following is a list of Clark County applicants who will be examined for citizenship: Kathryne Schufer, Greenwood; Mary Jerine, Owen; Wmil Gloff, Neillsville; Santer Warjanen, Owen; Stanley Cutkowski, Thorp; Tom Kosieracki, Thorp; Tom Gunia, Thorp; John Trunkel, Willard; Anton Janezick, Willard; Tom Pozega, Willard; John Marincech, Willard; Ludwig Szubarczyk, Thorp; Bert Stoneburg, Greenwood; Frank Kebel, Greenwood; Victor Sobrbowwicz, Thorp; Angelinia Gisler, Loyal; Marimius Jensen, Withee; Frank Y. Maki, Owen; Mike Briske, Greenwood; Mary Briske, Greenwood.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel