History: York Township, Clark Co., WI Political History
Contact: Loyal Public Library

----Source: Excerpt from "The Centennial History of the York Center United Methodist Church, 1880 - 1980..


When the Town of York was organized in 1873, the Chairman was J. B. Mason; the Clerk Joe Marsh; the assessor was George Redmond. No record can be found of many of the early officers, but H. G. Chase was clerk from 1875 until 1894, when John P. Kintzele took over the job. In 1879, S. D. Gibson was treasurer for the town and he was apparently for many years as he appears as late as 1893, as being in the office. Assessors of which there is a record were Frank Flint in 1885, Sanford Benedict from 1887 to 1891, when S. L. Chapei was the assessor. The accuracy of the clerk can ,be noted as he makes a note that the county overcharged the town $1.02 in 1893.

The following have been Chairmen since 1899:

1899-1900 John Dwyer

1900-1902 C. H. Ide

1903-1904 Sanford Benedict

1905 John Pietenpol

1906-1910 John P. Kintzele 1911 James H. Scoles

1912-19,16 John P. Kintzele Dwight Graves and his sister Ethel.

1917-1921 Chas. E. Brooks 1922-1929 Robert Teatz

1930-1939 Elnict Anderson

1940-1952 Otto J. Warren

1953 Lloyd Smith 1954 Martin Garbisch appointed to finish Smith's term

1955-1967 William Naedler, Sr.

1907-1980 Herman Seebandt

A few clerks have served the town for extended terms. John P. Kintzele began in 1894, and served until 1900, when John W. Pietenpol served until 1912 when Wm. Benedict took over the duties and held the office until 1932. H. M. Palmer served from 1933 to 1936. Hubert Graves was elected in 1937 and served until Oct. 17, 1949 (Died?). His son Dwight Graves was clerk from 1949 until 1959 when Violet Bender became clerk. In Aug., 1975. Carol Jakobi was appointed to fill the unexpired term of Violet Bender when she and Harold moved to Owen. Carol is the present clerk.

In the earlier years many served as town treasurer. From 1899-1900, Walter Graves; in 1901 Will Benedict, and in 1902 and 1903 John Pietenpol; John Vandeberg was treasurer in 1904 and 1905. John Parrett served in 1906 and 1907 when James M. Scoles took over for 1908 and 1909 with Parrett servine the next two vears. Amos Fulwiler was treasurer in 1915 & 1916. In 1917 Wilson Mallory was elected and served from then until Sept. of 1929 when he died. (See note in proceedings of the meetings.) Gus Bergemann was appointed to fill the term and served until 1933 when Fred L. Bartz was elected and served until his death in 1959. Elda Bartz finished the term and in 1959 Ella Eibergen was elected and served until 1970. Marjorie Schmidt was treasurer in 1970. Albert Hales was elected. in 1971 and he continued to serve until the present (1980).

S. W. Benedict continued to be an assessor from 1899 to 1901 when W. H. Turner served for two years, followed by A. E. Garvin in 1904, John L. Parrett in 1905, W. H. Turner in 1906 and 1907 when Parrett was again assessor for two years. In 1910 and 1911 S. Benedict served. John L. Parrett, S. Benedict and William Lawrence each served a one year term before S. W. Benedict again was elected to serve from 1915 until 1931. Ray Mortimer was then elected and continued in the office until 1947. Rollie Benedict, Wm. Eibergen, Glen Lavey and again Rollie Benedict served one year term. Henry Schmidt has served for many years and is the present assessor.



© Every submission is protected by the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.


Show your appreciation of this freely provided information by not copying it to any other site without our permission.


Become a Clark County History Buff


Report Broken Links

A site created and maintained by the Clark County History Buffs
and supported by your generous donations.


Webmasters: Leon Konieczny, Tanya Paschke,

Janet & Stan Schwarze, James W. Sternitzky,

Crystal Wendt & Al Wessel